My goal is to one day create a national directory of libraries that have MakerSpaces or feature MakerSpace equipment such as 3D printers. For now however I’m going to start with some of the libraries I know about in Arizona, as well as some dedicated, privately owned MakerSpaces. This will probably never be a comprehensive list, but rather a work in progress. If you know of something I should add, please send it to annmariethelibrarian@gmail.com

Read more about MakerSpace related events, fairs, and summits here.

Arizona Libraries with MakerSpaces and/or 3D Printing:

1. Apache Junction Public Library –
Contact: Anthony Fitzwater, afitzwater@ajcity.net

2. Arizona State Library
Contact: Chris Guerra, cguerra@azlibrary.gov

3. Camp Verde Community Library
Contact: Kathy Hellman, kathy.hellman@campverde.az.gov

4. Chandler Public Library
Contact: Deborah Moreno, deborah.moreno@chandleraz.gov

5. Glendale Public Library’s STEM at the Library
Contact: Kristen Fletcher-Spear, kfletcher-spear@glendaleaz.com

6. Maricopa County Library District – Pilot projects in various branches –
Contact: Tony Apodaca, antonioapodaca@mcldaz.org
& Danette Barton, danettebarton@mcldaz.org

7. Mesa Library’s Think Spot
Contact: Sarah Prosory, sarah.prosory@mesaaz.gov

8. Phoenix’s Hacker Haven
Contact: Terry Lawler, terry.lawler@phoenix.gov

9. Pima County Public Library District
Contact: Jennifer Nichols/Lisa Bunker, Jennifer.nichols@pima.gov

10. Pinal County Library District
Contact: Ann Leonard, ann.leonard@pinalcountyaz.gov

Local MakerSpaces:

1. Gangplank – (Coworking Space) – Multiple locations

2. Heat Sync Labs – Mesa, AZ

3. IDEA Museum – Mesa, AZ

4. Maker House – Tucson, AZ

5. TechShop – Chandler, AZ

6. Xerocraft Hackerspace – Tucson, AZ

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s